News Flash


Posted on: November 24, 2022

Director Kevin Flynn remains Board Chair, Rhona Martin Vice-Chair

Kevin Flynn

Columbia Shuswap Regional District (CSRD) Director and City of Salmon Arm Councillor Kevin Flynn will continue to act as Chair of the Board following a vote of the newly elected officials at the November 24 Regular Board Meeting.

Flynn is a long-serving Director representing the City of Salmon Arm on the CSRD Board. He was acclaimed to the position as Board Chair for the coming year. Flynn expressed his appreciation to his fellow Directors for entrusting him with the leadership role.

“I feel a real renewal of energy with this new Board,” he said. “I think it is going to be an exciting four years…positive, fun and vibrant.”

Flynn was elected for his first term as Board Chair in November 2019.

Long-time Electoral Area E (Rural Sicamous and Malakwa) Director Rhona Martin was acclaimed as Vice-Chair.

“I look forward to building relationships and helping to move us all forward,” she said.

The Board also voted to adopt the meeting schedule for 2023 with regular Board sessions generally set for the third Thursday of each month.

There are two exceptions:

  • The September Board meeting is moved to Thursday, September 14, 2023, due to the Union of BC Municipalities convention
  • The December Board meeting is moved to Friday, December 8, 2023.

The complete 2023 meeting schedule is posted on the CSRD website under the meetings tab and dates will also be scheduled on the CSRD website’s meeting calendar.

The next CSRD Board meeting will be held Friday, December 9, 2022.

Citizens continue to be welcome to attend Board meetings in person at the CSRD office in Salmon Arm. The CSRD also offers live streaming of the meeting for the public on Zoom. The Zoom recording of the meeting will also be made available on the CSRD website for approximately 30-days following the meeting.

The new Board of the CSRD pose with Judge Mariane Armstrong

Photo Caption: Before the start of the Inaugural meeting, the CSRD Board were sworn into service for the four-year term of office by BC Provincial Court Judge Mariane Armstrong. (From left) Mayor Colleen Anderson, District of Sicamous; Mayor Ron Oszust, Town of Golden; Director Karen Cathcart, Electoral Area A; Councillor Tim Lavery, City of Salmon Arm; Natalya Melnychuk, Electoral Area G, Judge Mariane Armstrong, David Brooks-Hill, Electoral Area B; Rhona Martin, Electoral Area E, Mayor Gary Sulz, City of Revelstoke; Councillor Kevin Flynn, City of Salmon Arm, Dean Trumbley, Electoral Area D. Missing from the photo are Marty Gibbons, Electoral Area C and Jay Simpson, Electoral Area F. (Viktoria Haack Photo)

View printable copy (PDF)

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in CSRD News

flames climb the slope during the night at Highway 97 and Salmon River Road.

Salmon River wildfire being held

Posted on: May 31, 2023
A presentation of MarCom awards to Shuswap Tourism

Shuswap Tourism videos earn accolades

Posted on: January 20, 2023
The CSRD Board chair Kevin Flynn presents award to Tracy Hughes and Kari Wilkinson

CSRD's Annual Report earns honour

Posted on: December 12, 2022
Wildsafe BC's Columbia Shuswap Coordinator Olivia Lemke with a Wildsafet Bc booth.

Wildsafe BC wraps up season

Posted on: November 14, 2022
A hand putting ballots into an election box

Official Election Results posted

Posted on: October 19, 2022
A ballot box graphic with preliminary results

Preliminary Election Results posted

Posted on: October 15, 2022
A person holding a sponge under a tap that isn't running

Scheduled water shut offs in Anglemont

Posted on: September 9, 2022
An image of the fire the BC Wildfire Service is classifying as K41512 - Anstey Peninsula.

New wildfire start in Anstey Peninsula

Posted on: August 17, 2022
High water in Blind Bay

Shuswap Lake close to 349-metre mark

Posted on: June 26, 2022
A headshot of Jennnifer Sham, new Corporate Officer

CSRD names new Corporate Officer

Posted on: May 12, 2022